Chapter one.

"Have you ever had the power to create whole worlds in the palm of your hand? I have. It is not a comforting feeling." - the Creator, to his advisor.

THE BEGINNING

The vast, turning orb was slowly rotating along its own axis. Hanging mid-air, its huge form was denying gravity in most amazing ways. Little blurring rays of shuddering light seemed to keep it steady. The vast chamber was spotted with small pinnacles of marvellous techonology, allowing this huge orb to hover, seemingly effortless. A man in a white coat was walking around the room with another handheld marvel of technology. It was scrying the orb with a tiny, green beam of light. Quietly contemplating to himself, the man walks up to the orb and taps it, lightly.


"Marvellous."


He then pushes a single, green button on his handheld device. It starts to vibrate and hum. 


And so the World came to be.


PONDERING UNCERTAINTIES

"Look, I told you to leave me alone." 
"I dare say I cannot, magister." 
"I do not care for what you can or cannot do, do you understand me? This power -- it is beyond me. I am only a man. I am no deity. I am no god, no almighty being. I am fallible - I am only a man. Do you understand that? What I have done here, it is not my right. It is not right. So now I must mend it -- I must correct my mistakes." 
"Whatever you command, my Creator." 
"No, you don't understand -- I am no Creator, I am nothing of the sort! On my own world, people refer to a deity, they still do even when these technological wonders amaze us. I am no such thing - I am merely a man who pushed a button. I want to go back, but I have used up all my power, everything is vested in this thing, this monstrosity. I have to mend it, quickly, before I become attached to it. I have to take it all back!"
The lone advisor looks on in silence as the man in the white coat ponders all the uncertainties, working frantically, calculating, contemplating. His thoughts reverberate in the Advisor's mind, causing him to smile for himself. It was too easy.
TWENTY-SEVEN YEARS LATER

Mallik's feet slap the soil hard as his legs pump beneath him, past trees and bushes, forcing branches out of his face with his hands. His prey runs faster beneath him, panicked. His wooden spear is wedged between its ribs, its strength seeping out of it slowly. He needs only run it down now, force it to give up its delicious, red meat.
It is frothing at the mouth, a keening wail slipping through its lips, its muscular neck twitching back and forth. Its legs buckle benath it and it topples, face first, into the brown soil and skids to a halt. Panting in hard, quick breaths, its eyes darting, it looks straight into Mallik's soul. It is always this hard to end these beings, these sleek beasts. Its muscly hind legs kick the soil, trying to regain purchase, to keep fleeing. Mallik's bone knife is unsheathed and plunged deep into the beast's chest, straight and true. Its panting breath is heard one last time, then a sudden sigh and subsequently the eyes stop darting to and fro. 
"Thank you, Creator, for this great bounty. I thank you, for this will greatly please my family and my people." Mallik says, panting almost equally hard as the beast. Slaughtering the animal takes great strength and cunning. The tall, muscular man, with his brown hair and brown eyes expertly cut its limbs off, tying them together with chewed sinew and prepares them for transport. His tattooed arms and shoulders are covered in blood as the meaty slabs are thrown across his back. The head he puts out to the Creator, as it is his bounty - his World, his creations. 
He nods up to the great moon in the sky, giving thanks once again. It slowly rotates and blinks to answer him. He is satisfied and trots off, back toward the encampment. The Creator is happy today, Mallik thinks gladly.
IN THE MIND OF AN ADVISOR
"I am furious! This cannot be! It cannot be reverted? You knew all along? All this time -- and you knew?"
"Yes, Creato-"
"I told you." the Creator says, raising a clenched fist.
"Magister, I apologize. There is nothing to do but accept your fate and help your people, sire. You have spawned an entire populace down there. Many tribes are now traversing your forests. With a little help they would not be mere barbarians, my lord. They would be proud members of our new World. Do you realize the possibilities?" 
"There are no possibilities, you imbecile! Only reckless folly! I have failed in my task, twice! I will do no such thing. I am going to my quarters."
The man in the white coat with the grey hair leaves the huge chamber with the rotating orb, but the Advisor stays, smirking.
"You shall not, perhaps. I certainly will." 





Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0